Leather Gallery Leather Gallery Leather Gallery Leather Gallery

Shop our wide range of premium mattresses to suit your individual sleep needs

Leather Gallery Leather Gallery Leather Gallery

Shop our wide range of luxurious beds and bed sets

Shop our wide range of bedroom furniture

Shop our wide range of bedroom furniture to create your dream bedroom suite

Leather Gallery Leather Gallery Leather Gallery Leather Gallery

Shop our wide range of luxurious bed bases

How The Different Dimensions of Sleep Can Impact Your Health

  • 2 min read

What Are The Different Dimensions Of Sleep? And How They Impact How You Feel After Sleeping

When you fall asleep at night your body goes through various different stages of sleep. During each stage of sleep your body will go through different biological processes. Scientists refer to these different stages of sleep as the “dimensions of sleep”.

The 5 Stages of Sleep

 1 The Drowsy Stage

 The drowsy stage is the very first stage of sleep. This non-REM sleep stage generally only lasts around 50 to 10 minutes before your body starts to fall asleep. If you are listening to your body cues such as nodding off and your eyes starting to droop while reading, watching television or on your phone, and practising proper sleep hygiene such as going to bed around the same time in a dark, quiet room, your drowsy stage will be consistent.

The Light Sleep Stage

In the second sleep stage you will fall into a light sleep. The light sleep stage is a non-REM stage where your heartbeat and breathing starts to slow down and your brain waves start to relax. When you are in this stage of sleep you can be easily woken by any sounds, light or sudden changes in your environment. The light sleep stage generally lasts around 30 to 60 minutes.


3 The Moderate Sleep Stage

The third non-REM stage can last up to 30 minutes. This moderate sleep stage is where your muscles begin to relax and your body temperature drops. Your body prepares to enter into a deep sleep in this sleep stage.

4 The Deep Sleep Stage

The fourth sleep stage is the deep sleep stage. This stage of sleep is extremely important for your overall health and give you that refreshed feeling when you wake up. During your deep sleep stage is when your brain waves, heart rate and breathing are at their slowest.

5 The REM (Rapid Eye Movement) Stage

The Rapid Eye Movement, or commonly known as REM stage of sleep is the time during your sleep where your brain activity starts to pick up again and your heart rate, blood pressure and breathing increases to levels similar to as to when you are fully aware. The REM stage of sleep is when your dreams occur. During REM sleep, your eyes move beneath the eyelids and your legs and arms are temporarily paralysed to prevent your body from acting out the actions that occur while you dream.

If you are able to go through all of these stages at night, your body will feel refreshed and revitalised when you wake up. You will enjoy benefits such as improved moods, heart health, better immune function, stronger lungs and a boosted metabolism. However, if you do not go through all of these stages of sleep, your risk of developing depression increases, along with elevated levels of anxiety and stress, as well as obesity and heart disease.